• The Catalyst
  • Posts
  • #4 : Dealing with a layoff, Career reentry, Money Matters, Q&A

#4 : Dealing with a layoff, Career reentry, Money Matters, Q&A

40% of the US workforce will experience a layoff so the odds of us getting laid off are quiet high. So, how can we take control of the outcomes from a layoff and reenter the workforce.Have you ever been tapped on the shoulder for a promotion?

I am trying different formats on my newsletter and would appreciate your feedback.

My Insights

I was laid-off a few months into my first job.  I got a severance package but I know that not everyone is lucky to get a package.  I was on an immigrant visa and that can lead to many more complications. My visa status was not compromised completely because I got on as a dependent on my spouse's visa. Look into applying for unemployment benefits and take advantage of any resources your former employer offers.

Dealing with a layoff can be a difficult and quiet emotional, but there are steps you can take to help you deal through it. First, take some time to process and grieve the loss of your job. It's okay to be upset, and it's important to give yourself time to adjust to the change.

Once you've done that, start thinking about what you can do to move forward. Consider updating your resume, networking with contacts in your industry, and researching potential job opportunities. It is also a time to consider whether you want to stay in your current industry, change industries, pivot to entrepreneurship, go back to school and more. If you are making a significant change, do research, expand your connections, talk to people and start to execute on your decision.

Finally, don't forget to take care of yourself during this time. Make sure to get adequate rest, eat healthy, and stay connected with those who care about you. It's also useful to find a support system, whether it's online forums, friends, or family. With the right resources and support, you can make the best of this situation and come out stronger on the other side.

Guest Highlight

Carol Fishman Cohen shares her personal experience of taking an 11-year career break to focus on raising her children and the challenges she faced when trying to re-enter the workforce. She provides a roadmap for individuals who are looking to relaunch their careers after a break, which includes identifying strengths and skills, building a professional network, and creating a targeted job search strategy. To listen to the whole podcast visit Women, Career and Life.

Money Matters

I can’t believe it’s almost October. I quit my job recently, a huge financial decision.  This decision was made after a lot of thought and a thorough look at my finances.

What is one financial move you made in 2023?Have you started following a budget, started a new job, or invested recently?

Q & A -ASK AWAY (Questions from readers & listeners)

I got tapped on the shoulder to be a manager, should I throw my name in the hat? I am not sure I can be a manager or am ready to be a manager?

When you get tapped on the shoulder to be a manager, I would strongly urge you to say Yes, even if you don’t think you are ready. First, the boss who is asking you to apply see’s a lot of potential in you that you may not recognise. Second, they will have your back and support you as they are also invested in your success.

Say No only if there are personal reasons or something about the job doesn’t appeal to you.

Don’t ever say No because you think you can’t do the role. How will you know if you don’t try. Also you will always learn something new in a role, build new skills, get exposed to a different organization, meet decision makers and expand your network. The upside far trumps the downside.

Please send your questions to [email protected]. Your answer may get featured in the newsletter and spark a conversation.

🙏🏾Thank you for reading my newsletter! If you enjoyed reading this newsletter please support me by sharing it with your friends & family.

Subscribed

Also, please leave a COMMENT or tap the LIKE button below ❤️ (Thank YOU!)

You can connect or follow me on :

✳ Book for Keynotes or Partnership Dr. Sirisha Kuchimanchi website

💠 Instagram: @WomenCareerAndLife

➕Please add this newsletter to your contacts to ensure that none of our emails ever go to spam!

#careerdevelopment #layoffs #careerreentry #careerbreak #promotion