#2: Relationship Building aka Networking

Podcasting and almost any content creation can be a very lonely place. Often you are sequestered in a room, hunched over a device putting out content that hopefully gets consumed.

In August 2022, I saw a post on LinkedIn from Mike in my feed saying, “Are you attending Podcast Movement in Dallas?” I didn’t know till then that there was a Podcast Community or a Podcasting Conference.

I immediately searched for individuals with any mention of Podcast Movement or #PM22 on LinkedIn. I crafted a message to all of them saying

I sent out ~70 emails in 48 hours. Within 72 hours, I received 50 accepts. I followed up with some of them and was able to setup time with a few people for a 1-1 or group meet up. The connections I made and the mentoring I received made me feel engaged and included in the podcast community.

I was able to join “The Podcast Academy”, get a mentor and engage as an active member of the community. A few months later I ran for the Board of Governors position and won my first ever election.

To learn more about the process and tools for podcasting, take a listen here:

This is the second time I attended the Podcast Movement (in Denver). Here are my takeaways on Networking (from my podcasting experience)

👉🏾 Mentors are important, build strong relationships. They cheer you on, provide insights and help you stay focused. I met my mentor in IRL (in real life) in Denver.

👉🏾Before attending a meeting, event or conference, see if you can connect online or over phone. This will make it much easier to feel comfortable (use networking email)

👉🏾 Take every opportunity to meet people in person. I was able to meet my fellow  Podcast Academy board members in IRL.

👉🏾 Don’t feel shy. I met Paula Pant, she was so gracious and I got to talk to her about her Netflix Show "Get Smart with Money", a must watch. It was a fan girl moment as I am an avid listener of her podcast "Afford Anything". Talk to people you admire. Be respectful of their time and space, you can learn a lot from them.

👉🏾 Networking is not transactional, it is about investing in relationships.

👉🏾 Don’t just take but also give back to your network. I was able to introduce and connect people within my network. Introducing and helping someone does not diminish our opportunities, it expands them.

👉🏾 Don’t try to build a network when you need it, Build it before a need arises.

People like to help and be supportive. Step out of your comfort zone and reach out to people who are outside of your immediate network.

What are some tips you use to expand your network?

If you are interested in listening to my podcast (Women Career & Life) or supporting it click the link: https://solo.to/sirishak

Thanks for reading EmpowerHer: Women Career & Life Newsletter! Subscribe for free to receive new posts and support my work.

Update your email preferences or unsubscribe

© Women, Career & Life#pm23 #podcast #podcastindustry #networking #relationship #mentors